Privacy Policy

Tweetings for Android, iPhone, iPad and Mac

Our privacy policy is very simple, but we go into more detail

Authentication

Tweetings uses Twitter’s oAuth authentication on their website. Tweetings never sees your account password and never communicates any information to 3rd Party servers except for communication with Twitter. We may also communicate to our servers and those of media providers, this is detailed below.
OAuth is an authentication protocol that allows users to approve application to act on their behalf without sharing their password. More information can be found at oauth.net or in the excellent Beginner’s Guide to OAuth from Hueniverse. See Twitter’s website for more information about oAuth specific to their service.

Revoking Permission

You can at any time revoke permission to Tweetings to access your Twitter account from the Twitter.com website. If you do so, of course you will not be able to use our Apps or our push notification system.

Media Uploading

If you choose to change your media upload provider to a third party such as img.ur, etc we use a service called oAuth Echo to authenticate your account. This only communicates information specific to authenticating against Tweetings and does not include your Twitter username or password and uses special hashed strings that are only useable for our application.

Optionally you can also opt for the content of your tweet to be posted with the media to these third party services. This is disabled by default and if posting media as part of a Direct Message we will not send the text, however the media may still be publicly available depending on the restrictions of the third party service.

See Twitter’s website for more information about oAuth Echo

Push Notifications

When registering for push notifications we request some information from your client. This includes a unique identifier that we generate ourselves, your username, your Apple push notification identifier (supplied by Apple) and your oAuth credentials from Twitter and the id number of the top tweets in your DM, mentions and home timelines.  We only capture the tweet ids and not the content of any of those tweets.  The tweet ids are used for syncing your timeline. This feature is enabled on demand and not by default.

When you first load Tweetings, your Android device/iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch will ask permission to send you push notifications. If you say no then we won’t do anything else.

If you say yes then we will register you on our servers to recieve notifications.

The oAuth credentials we request from your device are useless without the accompaning keys that only we hold on our systems.

For push notifications we connect to a Twitter system called Site Streams. This allows us to monitor your mentions and direct messages to send your device, and only your device a notification when a new message is delivered. This system is automated and we treat your privacy very seriously, and we promise to keep your account information secure.  When we get a notification to send to you, we send it to only to you through Apple’s push notification servers or Google Cloud Messaging. We do not store any of the information that comes through the streams on our servers at all.
We also monitor Apple’s feedback servers, and if you uninstall Tweetings, we’ll automatically remove your account information from our databases after 7 days. In addition, if you don’t load Tweetings for more than 7 days, we’ll automatically suspend push notifications and remove your oAuth tokens. To re-enable push after 7 days, simply load Tweetings as normal!
To suspend push notifications, simply go to the Settings on your device, the Notifications section, scroll to Tweetings and turn all the settings to off.

Tweetings Sync

Tweetings Sync is a service to allow you to synchronise your timelines across multiple devices and platforms using Tweetings.  For this to occur we request a unique device identifier, your username and the top tweet identifiers of your home, mentions and direct message timelines.  These tweet id’s are simply a numeric numbers and contain no other information at all.
Tweetings Sync is disabled by default on all platforms and must be explicitly enabled

Twitlonger and other Expansion Services

Expansion servies such as TwitLonger allow you to post Tweets over 140 characters. These services work by taking your tweet, shortening it to fit within Twitter’s 140 character limit and provide a link at the end of the Tweet to get the full text.
We ALWAYS ask you if you wish to do this before posting any content to these services. We do not allow you to use these services for Direct Messages.
Please be aware that if your account is a Private account on Twitter and you post to these services, your tweet text may be visible publicly. We will always warn you about that too.

Website

We use IP addresses, URI’s of requested resources, timestamps and HTTP user-agents to analyse trends, administer the system and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. In addition to this we use Google Analytics, a web analytics service provided by Google, Inc (“Google”). Google Analytics uses cookies, to help analyse how visitors use our site. The information generated by the cookie about the use of our website (including your IP address) will be transmitted to and stored by Google on servers in the United States. Google will use this information for the purpose of evaluating your use of our website, compiling reports on website activity for Tweetings and providing other services relating to website activity and Internet usage. Google may also transfer this information to third parties where required to do so by law, or where such third parties process the information on Google’s behalf. Google will not associate your IP address with any other data held by Google. You may refuse the use of cookies by selecting the appropriate settings on your Web browser, however please note that if you do this you may not be able to make full use of our website. By using this website, you consent to the processing of data about you by Google in the manner and for the purposes set out above.
OAuth is an authentication protocol that allows users to approve application to act on their behalf without sharing their password. More information can be found at oauth.net or in the excellent Beginner’s Guide to OAuth from Hueniverse